Glowing Reviews of Posada de los Raqueros

Posted on: September 21st, 2012 by Jenn 1 Comment

We all know how it goes: when planning a holiday and researching where to stay, it can be difficult to make such an important decision from some photos on a website. It can be harder still to get a real feel for a place from the website text itself– after all, even the Hotel California could sound good if they’d just hire a top-notch PR firm.

So, we could keep talking ourselves up, because we here at Raqueros know that we offer our guests a sweet spot in paradise on Playa Manzanillo in Troncones, and that your stay here will leave you feeling absolutely renewed. And we could follow the old adage “Show don’t tell” and keep posting mindblowingly-beautiful photos on our Facebook page and website, so that you can lose yourself in the mesmerizing sunsets and practically feel the light breeze and hear the swaying palm trees above.

(while we’re on the subject, have you seen the photos of our casitas, bungalows, and rooms?  Heaven…)

However! Perhaps the best way to let you know about the Raqueros experience is for us to step away from the microphone and let our guests tell you about their own experience here. We know that TripAdvisor.com is the go-to site for honest reviews of lodging all around the world, and we’re immensely proud to be the #2 rated lodging in Troncones Beach. And, check this out: we recently received a TripAdvisor “Certificate of Excellence” for being rated as a 5-star lodging by our guests!  We’re happy that we’re making our guests happy.

But don’t take our word for it– we’re going to get out of the way, and let you read for yourselves what our guests have said about us on TripAdvisor.  Here’s a sampling of our 81 sparkling reviews:

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

From the second we arrived we knew we were in paradise. Hans and Angie welcomed us with “mi casa es su casa” and they truly meant it! Any request or question we had was graciously received and handled without question.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, the grounds immaculate, and the beach/bay truly a piece of paradise! We enjoyed the gorgeous sunsets on the beach every night.
There are plenty of activities to keep you busy and many great restaurants within easy reach. We were even serenaded by Hans wonderful music every evening!
We enjoyed every second of our stay and look forward to returning.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Another wonderful, quick week at Raqueros. We are always welcomed “home” when we arrive. This is the perfect place to get away and relax. Of course, we’ll be back.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

A first time visit recommended by a number of friends and for good reason! One of the most beautiful bays and beaches in the world; peaceful and serene; great swimming and sunset watching. This B & B is a bit of paradise for people who prefer an unpretentious, back to nature and elegant environment.The owners are welcoming and caring. Ask for the pink casita on the beach!

5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We just returned from our seventh visit to Los Raqueros…it must be great to warrant seven consecutive visits. We have celebrated the winter holidays at Los Raqueros because of its welcoming atmosphere, the lovely grounds, the attentive and caring help from the hosts, and the jewel-like setting of Manzanillo Bay. A week at Los Raqueros has typically included a lot of time on the beach reading, sea kayaking and hiking with a local eco-tourism expert, fishing from a panga with a local fisherman from the adjoining fishing village, and good conversation with a small number of guests who quickly settle into a dreamlike state! You can easily get to Zihuatanejo for events or shopping, but we’ve found it easy to get everything we need in the local village of Troncones…a 20-minute walk from Los Raqueros.

By the way, we’ve enjoyed this place so much, we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here! Next year seems far away, but it’ll get here soon enough! We’ll be back!

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was our second visit to La Posada de Los Raqueros and we had another spectacular time! The location right on a beautiful sandy beach, comfortable and colorful rooms, and relaxing, informal atmosphere make this a perfect destination for anyone who wants to get away from the crowds and busy tourist resorts. Troncones is located on a dirt road on beautiful Manzanillo Bay, with some great outdoor restaurants and local music. The owners, Hans and Angie, are wonderful hosts; they will take care of your every need, find you local tours (e.g., kayaking, hiking), arrange taxis, and make restaurant reservations. I highly recommend this spot of paradise. We can’t wait to return!

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011
Here we are again writing a glowing review of ‘La Posada de Los Raqueros’. We had yet another, wonderful, great time with Hans and Angie last year. They always make us feel like family, that’s why we keep coming back year after year! We just love this place. What a great getaway spot. Don’t expect a TV or a Radio or a daily Newspaper, it’s not going to happen. Why? Because this is a vacation, that’s why! We like being able to walk down the beach into the town of Troncones, or if one prefers, there is a random shuttle\van that runs up and down the road to Troncones. We actually took the van to the main highway (200) and waited for the public bus into Zihuatenejo. We spent the day shopping in Z, had lunch and caught the bus back to the bus stop for Troncones. The van was soon to arrive, and back to Raqueros with a load of groceries and tons of stories to tell!
Well here we are in the middle of July thinking about our trip this year back to La Posada de Los Raqueros. It’s gonna be a looooooonnnggggg 4 months!!!!
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We had a wedding there last week. Wow, what a spot — the natural beauty of Manzanillo Bay, the meticulously manicured grounds and comfortable lodging made it the perfect setting. The owners, Hans and Angie, are gracious hosts who know the local community well, and did a marvelous job of arranging local food and entertainment for the event.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I just returned from the wedding of my daughter at La Posada de los Raqueros. What a perfect destination for a wedding. The location, with the roaring ocean out our front door, was gorgeous and our rooms were beautiful. The little village of Troncones was delightful with some outstanding outdoor restaurants. I felt Hans and Angie were very generous and welcoming to all the guests What wonderful people they are!. It was truly a special time for all. If you are looking for a magical place to have a wedding, look no further.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I just returned from spending close to three weeks at La Posada de los Raqueros. This was my fifth visit. Aside from simply vacationing and relaxing in a beautiful place, this time we also decided to invite all of our friends along to celebrate our wedding here. Raqueros served as the ideal location and we couldn’t have been happier with the entire experience. We were able to house many of our guests onsite, and the layout of the property lent itself to three (uniquely different) days of gorgeous celebration. It was a very memorable and magical experience for us, and for all of our guests. Thanks to Hans and Angie, and the top-notch Raqueros staff, for all that they did to make our stay and wedding day so perfect.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I just returned from an incredible week in Troncones and owe a great deal of my restored tranquility to Hans and Angie, owners of La Posada de los Raqueros. We were there for a wedding and were fortunate enough to be able to stay for seven days and now I can only think about how soon I can get back.

Troncones is a charming, rustic and soulful beach town that attracts world class surfers and anyone looking to disappear from their busy lives to the cradle of the Pacific shore. There are many homes and 8-10 room hotels to rent along the 3 mile beach, but after exploring many of them, I must say that Posada de los Raqueros has a bit of magic that can’t be found anywhere else. There’s a vibe, a spirit and balance at Raqueros that is the result of Hans’ and Angie’s special touch and care.

Look no further than Posada de los Raqueros if Troncones is your destination. Stay as long as you can and leave all of your troubles behind.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Posada de los raqueros is a wonderful place to vacation, for us it was perfect because we had our own kitchen and clean and spacious room for us and our children plus the excellent energy of Hans and Angie that makes you feel right at home while at the same time having the attentions of a hotel.
We definately recomend it!

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

What distinguishes this place from thousands of other nice places in the beaches of Mexico? Like a fine liqueur, this place perfectly combines all the necessary ingredients to make your stay there simply unforgettable: an incredibly beautiful and safe natural location; comfortable, spacious, fresh and cozily decorated rooms and facilities; friendly, respectful and always helpful staff; and –indeed its most valuable asset- a wonderful, kind and warm host couple: Angie and Hans.
In other words: there are many brands of good liqueurs, but only very few of them can be proud of having reached a “perfect blend”. There can be no doubt that “Posada de los Raqueros” falls under this last category.
Thank you, Angie and Hans. We very much look forward to visiting you again soon.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Our stay at Posada de los Raqueros was the perfect get away from a cold, wet Pacific Northwest winter. We loved the beautiful and comfortable accommodations. Our friendly hosts, Hans and Angie, treated us like family. The Posada faces west, so we enjoyed watching the sunset each evening with our toes in the warm sand as gentle breezes caressed.
You can be as active or relaxed as you like at the Posada- swimming, walking on the beach, eco-touring, or just relax while reading on the beach, watching the birds soar as surfers catch a wave.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We have stayed in many places in many towns in Mexico, but La Posada de los Raqueros and Troncones are the most beautiful and peaceful anywhere. Hans and Angie are delightful and they have created a wonderful and colorful paradise. Oceanfront, beautifully decorated, relaxing, enjoyable, on lovely Manzanillo Bay……we can’t wait to return.!! We highly recommend this gorgeous tranquil paradise.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We just returned from one of our most satisfying and relaxing vacations we’ve spent in years. This was our 2nd year in Troncones, but our 1st time with Hans and Angie at their Posada. It is elegant rusticity–a beautiful tropical hacienda with everythign we were looking for. We had a beautiful muraled bedroom which looked out on Manzanillo Bay and opened onto a tiled patio with a loveseat and hammock facing the beach. Mornings began with a European-style continental breakfast–yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, coffee. Days were spent reading on the beach. Manzanillo Bay is a tranquil inlet around the corner from the long strtch of Troncones beach, and is great for body surfing, boogie boarding, and even snorkeling–which I did endlessly. The Posada has snorkel gear and boogie boards. Every evening Hans and Angie would host a sunset gathering on the beach, as guests relaxed and watched an infinite variety of gorgeous sunsets (and waited for the mythical green flash). It was easy and fun to socialize with the guests from Europe and North America. There are three restaurants you can walk down the beach and reach–including the very affordable Tronco Bay Inn (order the chile relleno or fantastic coconut shrimp). Nearly every night some restaurant had a special–special dinner or special entertainment. You can catch the community bus for 10 pesos and go into Troncones for lunch or dinner–or call a cab for 50 pesos. The village of Troncones is charming and sleepy–you can walk along the beach and reach it in 30 minutes. The ocean breezes seemed to keep the warm temperatures from ever getting too sizzling, and the sound fo the surf was tranquillizing. One evening we witnessed a nearby turtle release–as new turtle hatchlings dashed under cover of sunset to the safety of the ocean. Throughout the day Angie and Hans played hospitable hosts, responding amiably to our questions and requests–even letting us hitch a ride into Zihuatenejo one day to visit the local market and waterfront. There were many beautiful tocuhes to this little paradise–colorful Mexican murals, flowerpetals on the bed and new towel-origami arrangements each day, wireless internet access, many gracious spaces–hammocks, sofas, settees, tables–to sit or work or read or relax. I had a weird experience one morning–I stepped on a sting ray while snorkeling and was badly stung. The guests all collaborated on treating my wound–the treatment is soaking in hot water; everyone was very hospitable–Hans even gave me several anaesthetizing shots of Tequila. We were well cared for. There are many little adventures a couple can find–walk into Troncones, birdwatch, visit the fishing village of Mahajua. Alex at nearby Hacienda Eden leads kayak tours in the lagoon and hikes in the nearby hill country. A wonderful winter retreat to paradise. We are already planning our return.

 

4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011
Angie and Hans are the greatest hosts and the Casita we stayed in (Mariposa) was just simply the best. Kitchen was convenient for breakfast and snacks. Room was spacious and access to one of the best beaches I have seen (and I have seen many) was spectacular. Because it is off the beaten path, I would recommend to anyone seeking escape from the world and entry into a wonderful new world.
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I knew that I would have to return home for some critical back surgery and wanted to prepare in the best place that I could find. Hans and Angie provide just such a place. Warm, inviting, erudite, and providing help for all those details of a stay in a new place. They have it all.
The funny thing is that my back pain went away in three days of tranquil relaxation and by the time I left, I thought that my surgery was not needed as the pain went completely away.
Well, the pain in my back returned upon arrival back home and indeed I did need the surgery.
I tell this story because of my having found a place to really relax to the sound of the sea, the discreet help from the staff and the beautiful space that they have created. If you want to unwind from the hustle and bustle, this is the place to go!
Their complimentary morning food service was wonderful, including a variety of selections to satisfy.
If you want something special, just ask. They arranged for a pedicure for me and will assist you in getting what you need from the local community to help in your stay.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Beautiful hotel/bungalos on it’s own private beach. Quiet, clean, attentive staff, welcoming, but not intrusive hosts, a slice of paradise. Can’t recommend it enough!

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011
Angie and Hans maintain a little piece of paradise which they share easily with their guests. There is a colonial feeling to the house and grounds as the maids, maintenance workers and gardeners move amongst the great columns of the large house, tending to their daily chores. Different pathways through the landscape allow visitors and hosts to move to and from the beach discreetly
.
A continental style breakfast is provided with excellent coffee, fruit and granola. Angie and Hans have a friendly old refrigerator “Pancho”, who dispenses ice cold refreshments to guests on an honor system. There is a large tiled kitchen, fully equipped, if you want to prepare your own meals. 

The beach is sublime, with luxurious waves for good swimming, surfing and boogie boarding. The water is crystal clear, at times, you can see the fish go by. In the evening we accompanied baby turtles in their pilgrimage into the sea. Manzanillo Bay is an exclusive area, muy tranquilo in stark contrast to the beaches of Zihautanejo. Not a lot of people on this beach the three times I’ve been here. Los Raqueros provides a very set of umbrellas, padded lounges and canvas sling chairs on their beach frontage. Hans makes a good margarita and is an interesting fellow to chat with. Angie is a lovely, thoughtful host also.

5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I was quite pleased on arrival to find that our casa and the entire (small) facility was beautiful. It is nicely designed, decorated, and landscaped. It is very clean and well maintained. It is sited on a most gorgeous sandy beach of maybe 200 yards long with rocky outcroppings at either end. Hans and Angie are very welcoming and generous hosts. They provided a nice breakfast daily and bottled water in our rooms that were both unexpected. My sons and I attended a surfing camp with isamexico that I also recommend. I hope to visit again with my wife one day.

 

4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We happened to be La Posada de los Raqueros during American Thanksgiving. Not being American was no problem to some other visitors from Chicago that we met there. The four of us had our hosts, Hans and Angie arrange to get some fresh, but amazingly inexpensive, Pacific rock lobster for us. This is one of the several reasons we love Raqueros and continue to go back. Hans & Angie will do whatever they can to make our vacation memorable. Hans, himself a diver, was happy to organise a dive trip for me. The next time we want to split our time between their condo in Zihuatanejo and Raqueros. What a vacation that would be.

 

4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We just returned from a weekend getaway at Raqueros and stayed in Casita de los Pelicanos. This was paradise! Our very own casita on the beach, complete with great outdoor spaces and wonderful little kitchen. Even grilled some locally caught lobsters on the grill area supplied by our lovely hosts, Hans and Angie. I can’t say enough about this place, at least not before I book our next vacation there! If you are looking for the perfect quiet beach getaway – this is it!

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

It was everything I expected from the web site pictures, plus more. I could see the surf break from my bed when I woke up in the morn. Early morn surf, then great breakfast of granola yogurt, coffee, etc. The owners Know How to Take CARE of their Guests!
I will be coming back. Thanks for all.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010
My wife and I booked for one night and ended up staying for 12! We had planned on moving around the area a little staying in different places but we ended up being very comfortable at Los Raqueros! Nice clean rooms or you can rent a little Casita with cooking facilities. We surf so it was awesome to walk right out the door to surf Manzanillo point,( a little rocky, not for beginners there, but La Saladita, 20 min drive north has a friendlier wave to learn). There is some nice swimming and snorkeling to be done right out front of Los Raqueros with great sea shell picking too. Sunsets are world class and there are a couple of restaurants to walk to. This is a wonderful little guest house with great hosts! There are pricier, newer places around to rent ,but you don’t really have to, you’ll be happy here!
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

I can close my eyes and still see the absolute beauty of these Bungalows. Upon arrival we were greeted by Hans and Angie. The 2 most welcoming people I have ever met. With a cold beverage and a smile, I knew right away we were in the right place.
The bungalow was better than expected. Very very clean. The colours of the bungalow, Trees and of course the open ocean at our door step were extremely soothing.
During our stay, we saw multiple lizards and birds. The Iguanas and geckos were a real welcome sight. I sure wish I could have Barking Geckos sing me to sleep every night.
With breakfast ready for us every morning upon wake up, we knew our day got started right. Fresh fruit, Yogourt, Juice and of course Mexican coffee.
The beach was out of this world. With frequent visits from sea turtles and big waves, You just can’t beat it!!!!
I highly recamend this rental property to anyone wanting to escape the weight of the outside world!!!!

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

In April 2010 we stayed at La Posada de los Raqueros, my friend, daughter and her boyfriend. The accommodations there are just wonderful. We stayed in a two level Casa Sol y Mar and it was perfect for the four of us. Two very large beds, one on each level. A wonderfully clean and modern bathroom on each level. The first level also had a table and chairs and day couch (think it had a trundel bed under it but to be honest did not look). There was also a great outdoor kitchen. Fresh bottled water was provided for the duration.

Hans and Angie, our hosts and the owners of this beautiful place were informative, kind and considerate. They provided a just right breakfast each morning which consisted of coffee, juice, yogurt, granola and fruit. The perfect way to start a day.

The stretch of beach immediately in front of the Posada was just the most perfect place to pass the day…………….fresh air, wildlife, crashing waves, and wonderful sunshine! There were several restaurants within walking distance, we enjoyed dinners at several of them.

I almost forgot Toofie……….the resident dog. We wanted to take him home with us. He followed us around and protected us, slept in our little yard and was a great companion on beach walks………..miss you Toofie.

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

La Posada de los Raqueros provided us with the truly relaxing vacation that we were looking for in a setting that can only be described as stunning. From the sunsets and tidal pools to the pounding surf as you sleep, Raqueros gave us the that profound beachfront setting we were seeking. Located on Manzanillo Bay just outside of the town of Troncones, this place gives you the feeling of escape, but with comforts. Our room in the main lodge was spacious and charmingly decorated. We often spent siestas lounging on the terrace, while still in view of the beach. The senoritas created different floral artistry on our bed and towels each day.

The beach here is is open ocean, known to surfers, but swimmable with some caution. Watching the surfers was a great pasttime. Hans and Angie are gracious hosts who provide you with local tips, great conversation, and host sunset happy hours. A highlight for us was witnessing the release of sea turtles, (little green ridleys), on both our first night and our last night. (That must be an auspicious sign!)

Troncones itself has enough of everything you need including beachfront bars and restaurants, a modern liquor store in a new little mini-mall, little shops, and even yoga. However, our favorite restaurant quickly became Hotel Eden, just next door to Raqueros, particularly the tuna in its many variations.

It’s easy to catch the combi/bus to either Zihuatanejo or Ixtapa if you need a taste of the city, but you’ll be glad to return to your seaside garden of Raqueros at the end of the day.

 

4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

For me the surfer this was 18 days in Paradise. Surfing everyday. I have stayed in various location in Troncones and this was my first stay at Raqueros. The place mimics the character of your hosts Hans and Angie who welcome you to Raqueros as if you were old friends. The staff that Hans and Angie employ quietly go about their duties in an unobtrusive manner and anticipate youe needs. We plan to visit again in 2011.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010
We simply loved posada Los Raqueros, a wonderful, quiet place, decorated with much taste in « mexican » colors! Its owners, Hans and Angie did everything to make us feel “at home” and to find our way around. Also we had most interesting talks with the other guests. On our long walks along the beautiful beaches of Manzanillo and Majahua ( lots of pelicans, exotic fish, even baby turtles!) we had the privilege to be accompanied by “Tuffi”, our hosts’ affectionate, funny dog! Back home, we enjoyed the wonderful sunsets, right in front of “Los Raqueros”.
This definitely is a place to enjoy, away from the roaring crowd!
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Great spot away from the madding crowd. Beautiful beach location with trees and flowers throughout the courtyard make for a great setting for a relaxing time at the Posada. Easy to get to from Zihuatanejo by cab or rental car 40 minutes north of the airport.

The owners are welcoming, friendly and helpful. Hans and Angie will ensure your stay is a memorable one.

Activities in the area include snorkeling, boogie boards and surfing. Don’t miss a chance to go kayaking and bird watching with Alejandro. And of course the sunsets are fantastic if not the best anywhere.

The units with kitchenettes are great for easy preparation of fresh food which can be had in Troncones 3 km away or from local fisherman. You can also load up on a few staples in Zihua on the way to Troncones. Several restaurants are nearby and Marthas in Majahua Bay should not be missed. It is a short walk of approx. 1.5 km North of the Posada along the beach or the road.

If you are there on a Sunday book a table at the Burro Burracho for an evening of some Mexican traditional dancing and singing. The performers are amateurs but put on a very entertaining show. The break-dancers give a 100% effort and are amazing to watch. Get a front row seat.

Bring your swimsuit and sunblock and enjoy the margaritas!


One Response

  1. gold price says:

    We simply loved posada Los Raqueros, a wonderful, quiet place, decorated with much taste in « mexican » colors! Its owners, Hans and Angie did everything to make us feel “at home” and to find our way around. Also we had most interesting talks with the other guests. On our long walks along the beautiful beaches of Manzanillo and Majahua ( lots of pelicans, exotic fish, even baby turtles!) we had the privilege to be accompanied by “Tuffi”, our hosts’ affectionate, funny dog! Back home, we enjoyed the wonderful sunsets, right in front of “Los Raqueros”. This definitely is a place to enjoy, away from the roaring crowd!

Leave a Reply

*